Reed becomes third Raven to land in Pro Football Hall of Fame

Feb 2, 2019

The Pro Football Hall of Fame is announcing its inductees for 2019.  Five players and two executives are on the list to be inducted before the Hall of Fame game in Canton, Ohio this summer.  The players are former Baltimore Ravens safety Ed Reed, record-setting tight end Tony Gonzalez, eight-time Pro Bowl lineman Kevin Mawae, and cornerbacks Champ Bailey and Ty Law.  Joining them are Denver Broncos owner Pat Bowlen and Dallas Cowboys executive Gil Brandt.  The inductees were announced tonight in Atlanta as part of Super Bowl weekend. 

For Reed, it's another honor to an already legendary career-- he goes into the Hall as a first ballot inductee.  According to the Ravens, Reed “redefined how the safety position was played with a remarkable combination of athleticism, intellect, and daring. He was electrifying not only as a defender, but whenever he had the football.”

Reed holds the NFL record for interception return yards (1,590 yards), and has the two longest interception returns in league history – a 107-yard return in 2008 and a 106-yard return in 2004. He ranks seventh on the NFL’s all-time list with 64 interceptions (regular season), and he has nine postseason interceptions.

In his 11 seasons with the Ravens, Reed went to the Pro Bowl nine times, he was a first-team All-Pro five times, and he was the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year in 2004. Reed capped his final season in Baltimore (2012) by winning a championship, with an interception in Super Bowl XLVII during the Ravens’ 34-31 victory over the San Francisco 49ers.

Reed joins former teammate Ray Lewis (inside linebacker) and Jonathan Ogden (left tackle) in Canton. Lewis was inducted last year and Ogden--the first ever Ravens Hall of Famer in 2013. All three were drafted by the Ravens.