© 2022 WEAA
background_fid (2).jpg
Your Source for Cool Jazz and More THE VOICE OF THE COMMUNITY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
We Need Your Support! Please make a donation today to keep this community resource on the air. Donate today!

One race is over, but the count goes on for others in Baltimore City primary elections

(l-r) City Council President Brandon M. Scott, former Mayor Sheila Dixon, both are currently locked in a tight race in the Democratic nomination for Baltimore Mayor

Baltimore City Council President Brandon Scott is now leading in the mayoral race.  Ballots are still being counted and Brandon Scott is beating former Mayor Shelia Dixon by less than 400 votes. 

Canvassing resumed this morning and the winner will secure the Democratic nomination for mayor. 
Shannon Wright is leading the Republican poll with 1,377 votes. See More Election Results Here

Baltimore City Councilwoman Shannon Sneed says she is conceding to Delegate Nick Mosby in the race to have the city council president Democratic nomination.  She congratulated Mosby and called his victory apparent. Sneed also thanked her family, friends, supporters, and said it was an honor to serve the 13th District. “I will do so until my last day in office,” said Sneed.

Councilman Bill Henry continues to hold on to his lead over Comptroller Joan Pratt. By late Monday afternoon, Henry’s ballot count was 53.9% to Pratt’s 46.1%. Henry, who represents Baltimore Council District 4, is seeking to unseat Pratt who’s held the Comptroller seat since 1995 and has often run unopposed.
Election officials expect to have all mail-in ballots counted by Friday. Baltimore City Board of Elections workers is expected to have completed transferring rescanning ballots for City Council District 1 and Circuit Court Judge that were plagued with printing errors from Seachange, a vendor out of Massachusetts.